It is quite accepted today that battery-based energy storage is the most critical technology to facilitate the deployment of renewable, clean energy. Battery is one of the most critical advancements in the human society to facilitate electrification and sustainability. Battery safety is of utmost importance to warrant successful market penetration of the advanced high-energy density batteries in electric vehicles, in energy storage systems and in portable consumer electronics. The importance of the battery safety thus motivates us to organize this series of IBSW meetings to tackle the battery safety issues as a global challenge that requires international collaboration. The 1st IBSW was thus organized in 2015 at TU Munich, Germany, followed by the 2nd IBSW in Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA in 2017.

This year, the 3rd IBSW, hosted by Tsinghua University, will be held in October 7th through 8th at Liaoning International Hotel, Beijing, China.The theme of the 3rd International Battery Safety Workshop will be “Towards Safer High Energy Batteries for Electric Vehicles”. Session topics of the workshop will focus on:

  • Thermal Runaway under Abuse Conditions and Countermeasures

  • Exothermic Reactions during Thermal Runaway and Ways to Inhibit

  • Fire Safety and Explosive behaviors

  • Thermal Runaway Propagation in Battery System

  • Safety under Fast Charging

  • Solid State Batteries, A Safer Future?

World-renowned researchers and industry leaders from international communities will gather together to address challenges in battery safety issues. This will be an open and productive workshop for attendees to engage in the work that is driving energy storage safety in the community.

We look forward to seeing you in October in Beijing!


Prof. Minggao Ouyang
Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
State Key Laboratory of Automotive Safety and
Energy, Tsinghua University, China
Chair of the 3rd IBSW Organizing Committee

Prof. Xiangming He
Institute of Nuclear & New Energy Technology,
Tsinghua University, China
Director of New Energy & Materials Chemistry Lab
Co-Chair of the 3rd IBSW Organizing Committee

On behalf of the 3rd IBSW Advisory Board
Boryann Liaw, Idaho National Laboratory, USA
Deputy Chairman
Juergen Garche, University of Ulm, GER
Jim Greenberger, NAATBatt International, USA
Thomas Chapin, UL, USA
Xiangming He, Tsinghua University, CHN
Won Il Cho, KIST & Korean Electrochemical Soc.
Franz Fuchs, BMW, GER
Patrick Bernard, SAFT, FRA
Seungbok Lee, Northvolt, SE
Limited Terms
Andreas Jossen, TUM, GER
Christopher Orendorff, Sandia National Lab., USA
Minggao Ouyang, Tsinghua University, CHN
On behalf of the 3rd IBSW Organizing Committee
Minggao Ouyang, Tsinghua University
Xiangming He, Tsinghua University
Zhengming (John) Zhang, Celgard
Yoshiaki Nitta, Expert leader of Battery Strategy Group, Nissan Motor Company Ltd.
Xinping Ai, Wuhan University
Yong Yang, Xiamen University
Qingsong Wang, University of Science and Technology of China
Li Yang, Shanghai Jiaotong University
Chengwei Xiao, CETC
Hewu Wang, Tsinghua University
Li Wang, Tsinghua University
Languang Lu, Tsinghua University
Fang Wang, China Automotive Technology and Research Center
Jianbo Zhang, Tsinghua University
Xuning Feng, Tsinghua University
Shichun Yang, Beihang University
Zhenpo Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology
Jun Xu, Beihang University
Haifeng Dai, Tongji University
Chengdu Liang, CATL
Huajun Sun, BYD
Kangwei Dai, BJEV
Jiang Zhou, Lishen
Qingquan Wang, GAC
Ningning Wu, MGL
Deping Wang, FAW
Gaopeng Li, Yutong
Yulong Zhu, SAIC
Zhi Zhang, CAERI
Shigang Lu, Glabat
Chaoqun Liu, China electric power research institute
Xulai Yang, Guoxuan
Yang Chen, Wanxiang
Mingming Li, Chungway
Gang Xue, THT China

Advisory Board

Organizing Committee

Registration fee covers the costs during the battery safety summit on October 8th 2019, including lunch, coffee break etc.
Before August 3th, 2019 After August 3th, 2019 On site
Cost ¥3,000.00 ¥3,500.00 ¥4,000.00
The last day to register for the IBSW 2019 is September 21, 2019. For conference cancellations, please email the IBSW group (ibsafetyw@gmail.com) no later than September 1, 2019 for refund information. Cancellations made after this date can not be refunded.






Professor Jinyue Yan, Boryann Liaw Ottorino Veneri visited the Powertrain System Group of Tsinghua University

On Jan. 12th, 2019, professor Jinyue Yan, the Editor-in-Chief of Applied Energy, Boryann Liaw, the department manager of Idaho National Lab and professor Ottorino Veneri, the vice editor of Applied Energy visited the Automotive Re....

Prof. Ouyang Minggao acts as the founding Editor-in-chief of Elsevier’s new journal eTransportation

On January 13, 2019, Elsevier's new journal, eTransportation, held the launching ceremony of the global publication in Beijing. Prof. Ouyang Minggao acts as the founding Editor-in-chief of eTransportation. Researchers from uni....

Investigating the thermal runaway mechanisms of lithium-ion batteries based on thermal analysis database, Applied Energy, 2019, 246 53-64.

The cause of the thermal runaway problem in lithium-ion batteries problem is still unclear. This bottle neck has prevented increases in the energy density of lithium-ion batteries, of which the technology may stagnate for many yea....

President Hongyu Zheng of Tianjin Lishen Battery Visits the Battery Safety Lab of Tsinghua University

On December 17th, 2018, Hongyu Zheng, the President of Tianjin Lishen Battery Joint-stock Co. Ltd, and Executive Vice President Junkui Gao, and other 11 people visited the Automotive Research Institute of Tsinghua University. Pres....